Home » About Bobbin » Boring, yet strangely fascinating…plus my anticipated opening day

Boring, yet strangely fascinating…plus my anticipated opening day

files

 

This week has been a productive one in terms of getting my little shop started, but it’s the boring stuff. The time spent designing new items, picking out fabrics, and endlessly watching episodes of shows while cutting a bolt of interfacing is fun, but it’s only about half of what I need to be doing.

Earlier in the week I have done a lot of the business registration stuff. Hello state of Florida, I am here! And I’ve ordered supplies, like envelopes and business cards so I can actually ship items around the country, and eventually, the WORLD. (Optional evil laugh here). All of that business-y stuff isn’t why I am starting an Etsy shop, but I’m finding learning the business side of things to be so interesting.

Everything from product photography, to promotional techniques, to keeping accurate records involves a skill of it’s own. Hats off to all small (and large!) business owners out there, you’ve got so much to keep track of. If I gain nothing else from this experience, at the very least I will have gained an appreciation of what it takes to run a business.

A lot of this business stuff has been taken care of and my goal date for opening Bobbin and Company is July 1.

That is so soon. Less than two weeks from now. There is still a lot to do, the list is daunting, but having a goal date is so motivational. No more kidding around here, this is happening.

Expect more pictures and updates soon. I can’t wait to share what I’ve got up my sleeve! For a little preview check out my instagram account @bobbinandco

 

Leave a Reply

