Home » Life » A Dog, a Game, and YA Lit

A Dog, a Game, and YA Lit

Today I’m linking up with Modern Mrs. Darcy for her monthly Twitterature. If you are looking for some new book recommendations check out her post and click on other links, there is always a great assortment of books reviewed.

Here is what I’ve been reading over the last month-ish:

 

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon

This was the book club pick for the month. The style was creative with lots of diagrams included, and the first person narrative from an autistic boy was intriguing, but this book really wasn’t my favorite. Maybe it’s the sad undertones, or maybe the style just wasn’t for me. Well done, but not my taste.

 

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

For E&P I listened to the audio (which was great by the way). This was one of those books that made me want to drive, just so I could listen to it. The story definitely kept my attention, my only complaint is that I didn’t completely love the ending.

 

A Feast of Ice and Fire: The Official Companion Cookbook (for A Game of Thrones) by Chelsea Monroe-Cassel and Sariann Lehrer

In the last few months the Game of Thrones bandwagon has swept me up. Of coarse, when I heard there was an associated cookbook, I had to grab it from the library. Each recipe quotes the passage of the book the meal was inspired from, and includes excerpts from real medieval recipes. The authors (who also write a Game of Thrones food blog) translated those recipes to something we can make with tools and ingredients commonly found today. My recommendation: try the Sweetcorn Fritters (pg.123)  and Modern Cheese-and-Onion Pie (pg. 145).

My reading time has been a little sparse lately with lots of summer travel and finally getting my Etsy shop open, what should I look to read next?

14 thoughts on “A Dog, a Game, and YA Lit

  1. A GoT cookbook? Yep, that’s going on my list. (I’m in the middle of Storm of Swords. Just got past The Wedding during my lunch break at work. It was very difficult to get back to work like normal after that!)

  2. I read Haddon’s book as well this past month and came to the same conclusion. A lot of hype around it, but not my taste. Currently reading a classic – The Sound and the Fury to prep for school!

    • I need more classics in my life. In high school I devoured classics (not just the required ones) but since then I haven’t picked up too many. Let me know how The Sound and the Fury is.

      • Will do! So far – very confusing! Also, if you like movies, James Franco is directing and starring in a new version of it coming out soon I think.. or sometime this fall.

  3. If you haven’t read Where’d you go Bernadette, I highly recommend it! A) It’s set in Seattle, which I think is pretty cool B) It’s really fun and quirky!

    This is kind of random, but I’d love read a post about how you keep your crafty things organized. My supplies are getting a little out of control and I need some inspiration 😉

    • I loved Where’d You Go Bernadette! It made me think of you with the Seattle setting

      Funny you mentioned that- Earlier today I was thinking of planning a post exactly on organization. Brilliant minds. Definitely a challenge with a 1BR apt, and many interests!

Leave a Reply

